Bryson Shelton and Mayor Donald R. Robinson

Form of Government

Form of Government

The Town of Catawba operates under the council-manager form of government. Policy and legislative authority rest with an elected Town Council which is composed of a mayor and four council members. The mayor and Town council are elected to four year staggered terms.

The mayor is an equal member of the Town Council, who is elected by the citizens of the Town of Catawba. He presides at meetings of the Town Council. The Mayor Pro Tem presides in the absence of the Mayor. The Mayor may be reached through Town Hall.

The Town Council, among other responsibilities, passes ordinances, adopts an annual budget, appoints citizens to boards and committees, and hires the Town Manager.

The Town Manager is responsible for implementation of policies and ordinances, hiring and supervision of town employees, and the day-to-day operations of the town.

The Town Attorney advises The Board, Manager, and department heads on legal matters and procedures. She prepares agreements, deeds, leases, and other miscellaneous legal documents.

Citizen Participation

The public is invited and urged to attend all Town Council Meetings to ensure open communication between citizens and elected officials.  The Town Council regularly meets the third Monday of each month at 7 p.m. at Catawba Town Hall.  (Except when this date falls on a holiday.)

The agenda is usually arranged so that public hearings on matters of general interest are held early in the meetings, so citizens do not have to wait to have their opinions and/or input heard.