Historical Association

Welcome to the Town of Catawba Historical Association, Inc. (TCHA, Inc).
Established in 1986 in response to the naming of the Catawba Historic District to the National Register of Historic Places, TCHA, Inc. adopted the restoration of the oldest brick building, Dr. Q. M. Little House ca. 1873, to showcase local history.
Catawba, which was selected as an early railroad station, is one of the oldest towns between Salisbury and Asheville, NC.  Trains ran to the town before the Civil War, beginning around 1859.
The Museum opened to the public in 2003. The Federal-style building contains five rooms of unique local history and a room dedicated to the National Little Family Archives. The structure itself is quite remarkable as well, featuring a two-tier porch, exterior stairway, six front doors and vintage handmade brick construction.
The non-profit organization welcomes memberships and donations for ongoing operation.  Nominal dues are Single $5.00 and Family $10.00 per year.  Mailing address: TCHA, Inc. PO Box 147, Catawba, NC  28609.
Visitors to the Museum may call (828) 241-4077 or (828) 241-2789 for scheduling or information.  The Museum is located at 101 First St. SW in downtown Catawba.
Enjoy a walking tour of the Town of Catawba Historic District, featuring a thorough look at brick-detailed commercial buildings, homes and churches dating from the 1860s.